Sports Hike

SportsHike Brings You All Latest Sports News, Our Team Is Dedicated For Sports Follower, We Will Cover All Games such as Football, Cricket, Tennis, Badminton, WWE And Many Other Sports.

List of FIFA Confederations Cup Winners 1997-2017

List of FIFA Confederations cup Winners 1997-2017 – The FIFA Confederations Cup is a international association of football tournament for national Teams. It was started in late 1992 and the matches take place after every 4 years period. The Teams of the tournaments come from Six FIFA Confederations UEFA, CONMEBOL, CONCACAF, CAF, AFC, OFC. There are total of 8 teams to take part in FIFA Confederation Cup.After 2005 the Tournament take place in Brazil while act as the hosts for the tournament. Brazil who are the current champions of the Cup and had total of 4 titles.

FIFA Confederations Cup

FIFA Confederations Cup


There had been total of 7 edition till now the 8th edition will take place at Russia in year 2017. The format of the Tournament is simple. There will be 8 team which will be taken according to there rankings and then two teams of same Confederation will not be kept in same group. There will be match of every team with other team for once and then there will be a knockout phase.

  • Semifinals:
    • 1st placed group A – 2nd placed group B
    • 1st placed group B – 2nd placed group A
  • Finals:
    • Third place playoff: Loser 1st semifinal – Loser 2nd semifinal
    • Final: Winner 1st semifinal – Winner 2nd semifinal

The list below is FIFA Confederations Cup list of winners below which states the winner from the starting to till date. While Brazil is on the top with 4 wins. While France won 2 times and Mexico one time.

Winners of FIFA Confederations Cup

Year Host Winner Runner-up Final Match Score
1997 Saudi Arabia Brazil Australia Brazil won by 6-0
1999 Mexico Mexico Brazil Mexico won by 4-3
2001 South Korea, Japan France Japan France won by 1-0
2003 France France Cameroon France won by 1-0
2005 Germany Brazil Argentina Brazil won by 4-1
2009 South Africa Brazil United States Brazil won by 3-2
2013 Brazil Brazil Spain Brazil won by 3-0
2017 Russia

Winners by Country

Country Winner (Year)
Brazil 4 (1997, 2005, 2009, 2013)
France 2 (2001, 2003)
Mexico 1 (1999)

Updated: August 10, 2016 — 1:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sports Hike © 2017 Frontier Theme