Sports Hike

SportsHike Brings You All Latest Sports News, Our Team Is Dedicated For Sports Follower, We Will Cover All Games such as Football, Cricket, Tennis, Badminton, WWE And Many Other Sports.

FIFA Futsal World Cup Winners, Runners-up List

FIFA Futsal World Cup Winners, Runners-up List: The FIFA Futsal World Cup is the international championship for futsal, the indoor version of association football organized by FIFA.

The world championship tournament is held every four years, on the even year between two football World Cups. The first event was held in 1989, the year FIFA became the world governing body of futsal. It was held in the Netherlands to commemorate the popularity of the game there. Up until the 2016 World Cup, only two countries have taken the Futsal World Cup: Brazil winning five, and Spain winning two. In 2008 Brazil became the first host country to win the Championship beating Spain in a penalty shootout. Brazil also won the 2012 competition, defeating Spain.

FIFA Futsal World Cup

FIFA Futsal World Cup

The 2012 event included 24 teams, making it the largest group. This edition featured a six group round-robin tournament, with four teams in each group. The top two teams in each group, together with the 4 highest-ranked third-place finishers, advanced to a sixteen team knockout final series.

Winners & Runners Up of FIFA Futsal World Cup

Year Host Winner Runner-Up Final Match Score
2016 Colombia TBC TBC TBC
2012 Thailand Brazil Spain Brazil won by 3-2
2008 Brazil Brazil Spain Brazil won by 4-3 (Penalties)
2004 Chinese Taipei Spain Italy Spain won by 2-1
2000 Guatemala Spain Brazil Spain won by 4-3
1996 Spain Brazil Spain Brazil won by 6-4
1992 Hong Kong Brazil United States Brazil won by 4-1
1989 Netherlands Brazil Netherlands Brazil won by 2-1

Updated: July 23, 2016 — 12:10 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sports Hike © 2017 Frontier Theme