Sports Hike

SportsHike Brings You All Latest Sports News, Our Team Is Dedicated For Sports Follower, We Will Cover All Games such as Football, Cricket, Tennis, Badminton, WWE And Many Other Sports.

Kagiso Rabada cleans up all annual CSA awards

Kagiso Rabada cleans up all annual CSA awards: South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada became the first player to win 6 awards at Cricket South Africa (CSA)’s annual dinner, including the coveted South African cricketer of the year prize.

With this samshing win, he has now officially broken the records of AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla, as both of them had won 5 awards each in a single year.

Kagiso Rabada

Kagiso Rabada

Not only is Rabada the only player to grab that many awards, but he is also the youngest to win the main prize. The only major award Rabada did not win was the T20 cricketer of the year, which went to legspinner Imran Tahir.

Rabada’s performance also earned the players’ and fans choice awards.

“Simply outstanding! Congratulations to Kagiso on recording one of the most remarkable debut years that any young cricketer has achieved in our history,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat. “Added to his record-breaking performances and statistics, is his humility and level headedness that you would normally associate with a senior player.

He took 30 wickets in 11 ODI matches at an average of 20.13 and an economy rate of 4.83.

His test haul was equally impressive with 24 wicket in 6 matches at an average of 24.70.

His best bowling figures of 13/144 were taken against England at Centurion early in the 2016 where he became the youngest South African to record ten wickets in a Test match.

Other awards on the night:

Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Year: Heino Kuhn

Domestic Players’ Player of the Year: Heino Kuhn

Momentum One-Day Cup Player of the Year: Alviro Petersen

Ram Slam Player of the Year: Albie Morkel

Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Nicky van den Bergh

SACA Most Valuable Player of the Year: Dwaine Pretorius

Africa T20 Cup Player of the Year: Lungi Ngidi

Coach of the Year: Rob Walters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sports Hike © 2017 Frontier Theme